~ What Katy Said – Episode the Fifteenth ~

After LOST throws us Season Six, Episode Six, Sundown, in an apparent attempt to close some doors and pave the way for us to open others, I have spent half an hour of my morning trying and failing to organise my thoughts into a stream of anything other than cheery babble.

I hope, then, that amongst such babble, you will find something of interest.

Download! What Katy Said – Episode 15

I also forgot to mention the marvellously eerie penultimate scene with the Catch A Falling Star soundtrack – as if we were hearing what was running through Claire’s head, almost, as she drifted, zombie-like, almost in a state of religious clarity and destiny, towards Locke. Very peculiar, perfectly done.

Also they very clearly showed Kate collecting a gun. Intended to show she thinks of herself amongst a sea of corpses, that she’s thinking ahead, that she’s going to do something useful with a gun later, or what? Interesting.

Again also, my thanks to all those of you who’ve emailed and tweeted me with your thoughts. I really do appreciate it, especially as whenever I’ve just finished a podcast I fear I’ve said less than nothing, as the whole thing becomes a blank.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://whatkatysaid.wordpress.com/2010/03/03/what-katy-said-episode-the-fifteenth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I might change my mind after I listen to everyone else’ opinions, but I really liked the flash-sideways for “Sundown”. Sayid is a complicated character and so any “redemption” he may experience wouldn’t be as straightforward as some. It wouldn’t be realistic (given his history)to have him never be confronted with the challenge of whether or not to do violence. In the past, he has always (albeit reluctantly) complied especially in the service of others. He willingly helped his brother as a child, his country, his fellow losties against Sawyer and against Ben, later working for Ben for the sake of his friends. All the while, he felt deep down he was a good person. In the flash-sideways, he refused his brother and walked away even though it made him feel terrible not to help. He sacrificed his love for Nadia. It wasn’t until he was kidnapped and it was clear that he had to defend himself and his family that he acted. I suppose he could have let them kill him or shown mercy to Keamy, but I can’t see that ending well. So, in the end I saw him on the road to forgiving himself, but not there yet.

  2. I wish I had found your podcast earlier! It’s excellent & free of grumpiness!

    So, dou you think that the sideways flashes depict the second chances that both Jacob & Evil Incarnate seem to offer? Maybe even they are only seemingly realities, that the characters are captives in a VR world & that the déjà vus & mysterious scars & wounds are Matrix style glitches?

    Like you, I’m really enjoying the ride. I don’t think any of my theories have turned out right, & I think it makes Lost even better.

    Thanks again for the positive angle on your (& other people’s) podcast!

    m

  3. Katy, I found your podcast via Donald’s weeks ago, but your episodes don’t appear on the LPN. I thought you might want to know.

    • Hey, thanks for your comment! They are on the LPN, but not if you’re using iTunes, as iTunes doesn’t accept the host I’m using at the moment. I hope to get this sorted eventually!


Leave a comment